13 DAYS!

Nichol is here to share her bliss that she’s so close to being done she can taste it. . . and it tastes like candy cane.

It’s my favorite time of year! Cold time!

As you are reading this, I have less than two weeks of mile a day left. I could not be happier.

Someone (whom I love dearly) made a comment about the erratic nature of my posts. “I’m awesome!” “I suck!” “I’m awesome!” “I suck!” And said person is right. This has been a roller coaster of a year.

My life is vastly different then it was two years ago. My life is vastly different than it was one year ago. At the tail end of this year long goal of mine, I talk about how this year has almost made me resent exercise. And it has, to an extent. I hate having to do it every day. I’m obligated to this mile, I’m obligated to see it through to the very end and it has made me resent getting up and doing it.

I know I could just stop. But I can’t just stop. If you know me outside of this blog, you know that if I decide to do something, and really do it, it’s going to get done. Sometimes that makes me awesome, and sometimes that makes me a mental patient. I have thought about quitting, over and over. I’ve taken a day off here and there (sick, back injury) but at the end of the day (the end of the December 31st day, to be exact) I am going to be so proud of myself. Hell, I am already so proud of myself.

I make jokes about it too. I say that I am never exercising again, but those days I had to stop, those days that I couldn’t even start? I not only felt guilty, I craved the activity. I’ve been sick for the last week, but I kept pushing forward. I tried to stay in bed but I couldn’t. I had to do something.

Does that mean I will continue exercising/mile a day, everyday in 2013? No.

What it does mean is that my body and my brain need the exercise. It needs it more than it did before. The scale hasn’t changed as much as I’d hoped, my body is still a hot mess, but this body of mine now has endurance, it has stamina, it has strength and muscle and definition I have never seen before.

So will I mile-a-day for two years? I can’t. I literally can’t. The schedule I was working this last semester is continuing in January and it was just too much. That won’t be an excuse for not working this body out. Even if it means parking extra far from campus or hitting the elliptical for 15 minutes, or doing an hour and a half of yoga once every two weeks.

I feel that I’ve finally crossed the threshold where exercise has not become something I do as a challenge or as a way to get skinny. I will continue to exercise because I FREAKING LOVE IT.

