Tri for Fun

Because my most recent race was in the midst of breast cancer awareness, I didn’t post about it when it was timely.

It was my fourth triathlon, my first in San Diego.

I would love to tell you about how fun it was, but honestly, it wasn’t fun.

I raced at the end of a week of vacation (that’s how the schedule worked out — I didn’t plan it that way). My body didn’t feel good.

And the morning of the race, it was cold and raining.

All three previous races were in the Phoenix area and it was at least warm if not hot, and the skies certainly were clear. So I’m used to getting out of the water, getting on my bike, and being dry within a mile.

This time, not so much.

Because of the nature of racing (it’s exercise), once I got moving in the water, I wasn’t cold any more, but I was wet.

Anyway, it happens. Not every race is going to be a great race. That’s OK.

Compared to my previous races (and not compared to other racers), my swim time was OK, my bike time was OK, and my run time was slow slow slow, even for me.

I am, in general, a slow racer. I am completely at peace with this. I would like to make myself faster, and typically, I do, but it’s really just to beat myself. I don’t anticipate hitting the medal stand any time in the next 50 years, after which point, I might win my age group by virtue of being the only one in it 😉

I could work to make myself more competitive, but I don’t want to. I do triathlon for fun. The amount of training that I put into it is all that I want to put into it. As soon as the training schedule becomes more rigid or time-consuming, it’s work, not play, and I don’t want to do that.

If my desire to make it work and be competitive changes, well, then I’ll change my course. Until then, it’s just a dip, a spin, and a stroll.

Do you do anything for fun where you reject others’ encouragement to be competitive?

