Home stretch (of P90X)

So I have about 10 days left of P90X.

10 days.

And guess what?

My back is out.

I pulled something on Sunday morning, writhed in pain all day, went to work on Monday and hobbled around the office. I did attempted P90X Monday morning. I did the stretching video once it became evident that I would probably do some serious damage if I continued with the plyo video.

Spent some time at Urgent Care Monday night. The doc poked and prodded down my back. When she hit the sweet spot, I yelped. Totally involuntary. Then she poked and prodded a random line of connected muscles, all the way down to my knee. Yup. It was freaking painful.

My right paraspinal nerve in inflamed, pulled, and painful as any back pain I’ve ever felt. She gave me two steroid shots in each butt cheek, Soma, and Vicodin. And a warning to “take it easy, no strain for at least three days”.

Does she not know me at all?!?!

I’m on the injured list, but I figure, my upper body feels just fine. I’m all arms and light yoga and stretching for the next few days. I can’t stop now, I’m almost done with this wretched Tony Horton and his evil X-treme ways. (haha)

I need your happy thoughts because as hard as I’m trying, I am feeling pretty discouraged.

I’ve been reading some other blogs of people who are traveling this same road. It’s inspiring but it makes me jealous and doubtful of myself all at the same time. It doesn’t help that my weight has gone up. Not for lack of trying. But it makes me question, what the hell am i doing wrong? Im eating more veggies, daily exercise, less calories, less processed. It’s really, really bothering me and it makes it super hard to stay motivated. It also makes all this work super suck.

I’m trying to keep my (stolen) motto in my head, keeping my quote taped to my mirror, and my goal in sight. I’ve come this far and I can’t turn back now, but it would be so damn easy to just throw in the towel, get some McNuggets, and blame my back.

I can not, and I will not.

Change is possible, and happiness is a choice, no matter how hard it may seem sometimes, right?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by melanie on 19 September 2012 at 07:19

    This is a great time to go visit the chiropractor. The nerve is inflamed for a reason… Address that and you are golden.

  2. Posted by Angela on 23 September 2012 at 13:18

    Don’t compare your travels with anyone else! No one is on the same path no matter how similar the path seems. I am Very frustrated with my results right now too but if we keep going all of a sudden one day we will see it. We will see the change and we will see that we are not what we used to be. Take it easy only a little bump don’t make it into a boulder.

Comments are closed.

