Recipe: Baked Potatoes for Phoenix Summers

OK, so it’s not much of a recipe, but I learned two fabulous tips from the depths of Pinterest and thought I’d share them with you.

First — you can make baked potatoes in a crockpot! No hot kitchen! You can wrap them in foil if you want, but you don’t even need to do that.

What I did:

  1. scrub the potatoes clean
  2. rub in olive oil
  3. put in crockpot
  4. sprinkle with a touch of salt
  5. cook

On low, 6-8 hours; on high, 2-3 hours.

I don’t know if you even need the olive oil, and I know you don’t need salt. (To apply the oil, I put a bit of oil in a small bowl, dipped the end of the potato in it, then rubbed it all around. There are probably ways that keep your hands cleaner, but I didn’t really care.)

I almost never add salt to my cooking, even when a recipe calls for it, but the tiny bit (really, I’m guessing under 1/8 teaspoon) really adds something to these.

The other tidbit I learned: you can substitute plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream when you eat these fabulous potatoes. Delicious!

Go try it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Trisha Drake on 8 September 2012 at 18:28

    How many potatoes did you make?

    • I’ve done this a few times but only with small potatoes. Enough to cover the bottom of the crockpot. Once, enough to stack up.

Comments are closed.

