Health Care

Heath care has been all over the news and a hot topic of debate since the Supreme Court’s ruling. Regardless of that, here is the problem with health care in the US:

It’s reactive.

When you have a problem, you go to doctors and see if they can fix it, or kind of fix it, or maybe just fix it enough that you can live with it.

We sit at desks all day and on couches all evening, we eat too much refined food, too much sugar, too much salt, too much meat, not enough fruits and vegetables, we don’t get enough sleep, we create stressful lives for ourselves, and then complain that we get sick.

I often bring these things back to cancer because that’s where I have the most experience.

People walk and run and bike and write checks “for a cure.” Tons and tons of money is poured into research.

There is nothing inherently wrong with that. But most people blow off what the research finds, and that drives me bonky.

There are clear connections between breast cancer and plastics. Doesn’t stop most people from drinking bottled water, steaming their veggies in the bag, eating canned food, or reheating food in plasticware.

There are clear connections between being overweight and some cancers. Not only do people deny the connection, they deny they’re overweight. There seems to be a mentality of “skinny isn’t healthy either!” And while it’s true that skinny, unless that’s your body type, isn’t healthy, that doesn’t justify being 15 pounds β€” or more β€” overweight. We’re so used to seeing people who are overweight that when we see people who are a healthy weight, we think they’re skinny.

Smoking. Yeah.

Why fund research if we’re just going to ignore it anyway?

My impression is that many (most?) people don’t want to know how to prevent diseases β€” at least not through lifestyle changes. They want science to develop a quick easy way to fix it once they’ve contracted something, or maybe a shot to ward it off in the first place.

(source)

Can you imagine most people’s reactions if that’s what their doctor prescribed?

People seem to take better care of their cars than their bodies … but you can buy another car (or get around without one πŸ˜‰ ). You only get one body…

Where are you on preventative maintenance? Do you practice it? Are you for it in theory but haven’t gotten around to doing it? Think it’s bunk? What’s your biggest obstacle?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by trisha on 16 July 2012 at 17:12

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this post! I have been actively changing what I put into and on my body as well as what I do with/to it. Reading labels is a pain in the ass and I know that’s the only way I’m going to know what I’m putting into my body. I never thought of people buying things because a percentage will go to research and turning around to shop for “bad” food, etc. I guess it’s the way some people deal with disease/cancer? Feel better by giving a percentage of your paycheck? I am also actively shopping for a new doctor – one just like the guy in the cartoon!!!

    • Thanks! I think that many people have an attribute ascribed to teenagers: “It won’t happen to me.” (I think that many others have a worse attribute: “It will happen to me and there’s nothing I can do about it.”)

Comments are closed.

