Confession Time

It’s Wednesday! Nichol is with us

I hate running. I’ve said this a million times but I’m going to own it now. I HATE running. It makes me miserable and no matter what, I can’t seem to obtain the runner’s high that dumb runners go on and on about.

That has put me in a bit of a pickle. I really want to successfully run a full 5K, because I enjoy 5K events and would like to keep doing them. I would also like to finish Couch to 5K because I have started it over and over but I’ve never finished it and I find that unacceptable.

You know what I think part of the reason is? I hate running when it’s even slightly warm out. I enjoyed running jogging/walking when it’s cold. Because jogging/walking makes me warm.

But even when it’s cold, running sucks and I hate it.

You know what I love? Strength training. Yoga. Swimming. Biking (real and stationary). Walking (long and short distances). There’s nothing wrong with that, right?

I am over halfway to the end of the year and I think I’ve earned the right to do what I want. *stomps feet to bedroom, slams door*

I started P90X on Saturday and I am loving it (so far). The guy annoys me to death, but I feel exhausted and amazing at the end of every workout (so far). I feel the same way after working out with Heather. And after biking an hour. And after walking two miles.

Here’s my new plan (which doesn’t include abandoning mile a day):
1. Finish P90X
2. Finish mile a day in whichever way I see fit (yes, I am still doing at least one mile everyday that I do P90X)
3. Keep eating healthy-ish
4. Finish C25K before the year is up (probably restart after P90X, or maybe start on P90X rest days. . . Or maybe not)
5. Keep doing social circuit
6. Quit beating myself up when I’m lazy and choose to walk a mile at the mall.
7. Quit putting parameters and rules in place. (Anyone else feel like I need a book to keep track of this stuff?)

On a side note, have a happy and safe fourth of July. I will be eating ribeye and mashed potatoes and pie with my family and not giving one care about the starchy ridiculousness. And neither should you. We’ve earned a day.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on 4 July 2012 at 18:56

    Hi Nichol – you don’t know me (Heat does) but I HATE RUNNING TOO. LIKE WHOA, I REALLY DO NOT ENJOY IT. I’ve been running for 2.5 years and it has yet to get any better. I also love to walk, Zumba, yoga, Les Mills BodyFlow, and swimming. But yeah, no runners high here. Just runner’s sore lungs.

    But I keep plugging because it’s a challenge and I know it’s good for me (well, maybe not for my knees). But I also definitely give myself permission to take breaks -I didn’t run at all between January and May of this year, because I was sick of it. During that time I focused on other things. Now I’m back running a few times a week and it’s okay again.

    So anyway, you are far from alone. And we’ll both do the best we can!

Comments are closed.

