Recipe: Parmesan-Crusted Veggies

I’ve had the ingredients on hand for this for a week but didn’t make it until today. Actually, I had not remembered that I needed two eggs for an unmade recipe and had only one egg left in the fridge, so I had to cut the sauce recipe in half. There was still sauce left over, so no worries.

I tried making my own breadcrumbs, and I have to tell ya, it was a pain. More difficult/time consuming than I expected. I have recently learned about panko breadcrumbs and plan to try those the next time I make this.

The original recipe calls for mayo in the sauce, but I’m not a big fan of mayo. We don’t have any on hand and we wouldn’t use it for anything else, so I just left it out (as you’ll see below), and the sauce was still quite tasty. It also called for asparagus and broccoli, but our broccoli went bad before I made these 😦 so we only used asparagus. After making the recipe as noted below, we had egg, breadcrumbs, and dipping sauce left, so this will easily make more than the dozen spears listed.

Parmesan-Crusted Veggies & Sweet Onion Sauce

ingredients

  • 12 asparagus spears, washed and ends snapped off
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cups of seasoned bread crumbs (if using plain crumbs, just season with salt and pepper, and italian spices, ie: onion, garlic, parsley, basil, paprika, etc.)
  • 1/8 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon oil or butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 tablespoon spicy mustard
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
Directions
  1. Snap ends off of asparagus.
  2. In separate bowls, place beaten eggs and bread crumb/parmesan cheese mixture. I used the tray the asparagus came in for the egg and a dish for the breadcrumb mixture. Later I noticed that the recipe called for the stalks to be cut in half. Would have made this step simpler.
  3. Coat each stalk in the egg wash, transfer to the bread crumb mix and coat, then place on a cookie sheet. I didn’t spray or otherwise prepare the sheet and didn’t have issues with sticking.
  4. Bake in oven at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes, until golden and crispy.
  5. While asparagus is baking, heat oil or butter in a pan on medium heat. Add the onions, sugar, salt, and pepper. Cook the onions, stirring occasionally until onions caramelize, 12-15 minutes.
  6. Transfer onions to a blender or food processor. Add the vinegar, honey, and mustard; blend until almost smooth.
  7. Transfer to a bowl, and mix in the yogurt.
