Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge

Welcome to April!

I was invited to participate in the Health Activist’s Writer’s Month Challenge this month, putting up a post every day. I was given prompts and will use them most of the time.

Let’s get started! Today’s prompt:

Health Time CapsulePretend you’re making a time capsule of you & your health focus that won’t be opened until 2112. What’s in it? What would people think of it when they found it?

Probably just a few photographs and a letter. I hope they think, “They were so foolish back then” …

I can only imagine how much has changed in the time between me writing and you reading. 100 years! I think back to what life was like in this area 100 years ago and assume that your life is just as different from mine as mine is from theirs.

I hope that in that time, we (western humanity, most specifically Americans) have realized that technology is not always “progress” and that sometimes nature knows best. 

As I write this, our food supply is in terrible condition and it seems to grow worse on a daily basis. Animals are treated inhumanely (understatement of the year!), antibiotics and hormones are injected into them, genetically modified crops are being grown, disgusting levels of pesticides are being used on all manner of crops. But that’s only in the growth. So much of our food is very highly processed, mixed with chemical ingredients, and packaged in toxic packages. Deceptive labeling practices are legal. Money and profit trumps health and safety.

None of it is good for us, and the masses don’t believe that our increasing rates of disease are related. It is frustrating.

I hope that as you read this, fewer animals are grown for food and that they are treated with respect during their lives and as they are slaughtered. I hope they are fed food that is appropriate for them. I hope that farms are organic, using crop rotation to keep the soils fertile and more natural ways of controlling pests and weeds. I hope that food is more recognizable as food and that it spoils. I hope fewer items are packaged and that the labels on everything are true and complete. I hope that the populace would accept nothing less.

The impact of these actions on our mental and physical health can’t be understated.

No need to write back. I have no forwarding address.

I might also toss a Twinkie in there.

What would you put in your time capsule?

