“Legitimately Tasty”

The more I read about sugar and all of the nasty things it does to your body, the less I am OK with eating it. So my long-term goal is to cut foods with added sugar. I’ve already cut foods with artificial sweeteners (chewing gum was the most difficult!).

When I don’t eat a lot (or any) junk food for a while, fruit is a whole lot sweeter and easily satisfies my sweet tooth. I’m slowly trying out recipes without it to see what I can make that is legitimately tasty. What is “legitimately tasty”? Let me give you an example.

When I was dairy-free for a while, I had an ice cream sandwich made from soy ice cream. It was fine, but it wasn’t an ice cream sandwich. That falls under the category “not legitimately tasty.” In other words, it was not a product I would seek out unless under special circumstances.

I also would mash frozen bananas together with pieces of pecans, or with berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries — doesn’t matter). Legitimately tasty. I have eaten this many times now. Frozen, slightly sweet, creamy (if I mash it enough), very tasty. Also an excellent way to save bananas that aren’t going to get eaten before they go bad.

This is a standard I keep for all foods that are somehow taking the place of a food that I don’t eat any more. In general, I’m not a fan of mock meats. Mock meats leave meat as the main event in an entrée, which isn’t really how we should be eating (whether we actually eat meat or not). They are rarely as good as their real-deal counterparts, though I have found a few that I find quite tasty. And they’re full of garbage ingredients. Different garbage (mostly) than what is in their meat counterparts, but garbage none-the-less.

I know a lot of people on restricted diets for a variety of reasons: veg*n, gluten-free, soy-free, casein-free, dairy-free, corn-free. Everyone wants food that they can eat that tastes good. The fewer ingredients, the better, most of the time. All ingredients recognizable tastes better most of the time. (I can’t think of an exception offhand, but I’m sure there is one somewhere…)

Of course, you don’t need to be on a restricted diet to be faced with plenty of food that is “fine” (or less). Most of the junk food that is left in the break room isn’t tasty enough to be worth the calories.

I hope that we work our way back to food that is real and healthy and away from food that is cheap and full of garbage. It won’t be quick or easy, but as more of us do it, more companies will notice.

What have you found as far as food/food substitutions and tastiness?

