Meatless Meals (I Wish) My Mother Made

This recipe floated through Pinterest. It intrigued me, though I have to admit, I had no hope that it would actually taste like brownies. Really? Black bean brownies??

Pleasant surprise! It was tasty!

We didn’t have many chocolate chips on hand (what you see is all we had) β€” these would have been better with chips. Also, beans that were slightly overcooked probably would have been better (canned would be fine), as would a tiny bit more time in the food processor … but I was impatient πŸ™‚

And so, from Lynn’s Recipe Adventures comes …

Flourless Black Bean Brownies

  • 1- 15 ounce can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a food processor or blender puree the black beans, eggs, butter, cocoa, vanilla, and sugar until smooth.
  3. Stir chocolate chips into the batter and spread into a greased 8Γ—8 pan.
  4. Bake for 30-33 minutes.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeanne on 25 March 2012 at 03:15

    I worked up the points for Weight Watchers, a 1/16 serving is 4 points and a 1/12 serving is 5 points.

Comments are closed.

