Revisiting No-Poo Shampoo

The Big Man, The Kid and I were out of town last week visiting relatives and the beach. The Kid was a pretty good traveler, though he woke up at night more often than usual. Overall, it was nice to visit, and it was nice to come home.

In packing for the excursion, I put some baking soda into my bag but decided to do without the vinegar.

(For those just tuning in, I use baking soda to wash my hair and white vinegar as a rinse — commonly referred to as “no poo shampoo.”)

As it turns out, the vinegar is pretty critical.

Normally, my hair feels fairly soft (not as nice as it was pre-cancer, but better than it was immediately afterwards) and it lays nicely. By the end of our five days out of town, it felt heavy and gross (not a great descriptor, but it’s all I got right now) and didn’t lay well at all.

Not having time to wash it right away before I wanted it to look decent, I decided to just give it a vinegar rinse and see what happened. Result: much improved, though not as good as when I use the two together.

Moral of the story: the vinegar rinse is important!

My current usage: about a teaspoon of baking soda and a tablespoon of vinegar. I don’t keep them in the shower itself. I scoop out the baking soda into a little cup and pour the vinegar into a large plastic glass, left over from many years ago (I think I bought it when I was in college). The little cup fits perfectly over the mouth of the glass, helping to minimize the vinegar smell.

I dump the baking soda into one hand, then transfer some of it to the hand that had handled the cup, and work it into my scalp with both hands. Then I rinse with water. I fill the cup with water (so the vinegar is diluted; the original recipe I saw said one tablespoon vinegar to eight ounces of water), tip my head back, and pour the mixture all over. I’ve been doing this for over a year and got vinegar in my eyes only once. (It didn’t feel great, but it’s pretty diluted, so it’s not as bad as it could have been.)

Have you tried no poo? Do you otherwise avoid chemicals in your hair care products?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angela on 19 March 2012 at 18:39

    I haven’t tried this yet but I have listened to a local morning show that has a girl that is doing the No-Poo Shampoo and she says it works Great. I think I will try this soon.

  2. Posted by Jeanne on 1 April 2012 at 18:48

    I have tried the baking soda with the vinegar and was not happy. I felt like my hair didn’t really get clean. Maybe that’s because my hair is longer than yours. But the last few months I’ve been using castile soap. I’m constantly amazed how the vinegar makes my hair silky smooth. It’s like magic.

    • I have heard good things about castile soap from a few people who didn’t want conventional shampoo but didn’t want baking soda, either.

      And agreed on the vinegar! It’s pretty amazing!

Comments are closed.

