Meatless Meals (I Wish) My Mother Made

I love sweet potatoes. I’ll buy them, boil and mash them, and eat them just like that, no additions needed.

So when I see a recipe for something delicious with added sweet potatoes, I have to assume that it will be even more delicious.

In this case, I was correct. This is some really tasty hummus.

It’s spicy and also a bit sweet, and it pairs really well with apple slices.

I already had two mashed sweet potatoes on hand. The original recipe calls for roasting and peeling them; I did neither. The food processor took care of the skins with no trouble. Oh, and we didn’t have tahini on hand, so we left it out. Did need a bit of extra water.

Spicy Sweet Potato Hummus

ingredients

  • 2 large sweet potatoes (or 2 cups mashed sweet potato)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 15-oz can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more if you like a really spicy dip)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

If your sweet potatoes aren’t already cooked, roast them in the oven for 45 minutes at 400 degrees, individually wrapped in foil.

In a large food processor, puree garlic cloves and chickpeas. Add everything except sweet potatoes. Puree until smooth. Add sweet potatoes and puree until completely combined.

Serve immediately or store in an airtight container in the fridge until ready to serve.

According to The Novice Chef, this can be stored in the freezer for up to three months in an airtight container.

