Meatless Meals (I Wish) My Mother Made

I mentioned recently that I joined Pinterest. One of the main things I’ve gotten from it is recipes. Tons of them. Some of the recipes will happen some time and some that look really good but realistically aren’t ever going to see the light of day in my kitchen (whether because they’re complicated or sugar/flour-laden).

This one was from a list of many ways you could use Greek yogurt. I’m not a fan of Greek yogurt, but some of the ideas intrigued me, so I clicked through. So glad I did!

The post to the original recipe can be found here, where there is also a recipe for blackberry sauce. Looks good. We didn’t have blackberries on hand and I hate hate hate zesting citrus.

I’d like to try this with other flours and see how the pancakes turn out.

Make sure you make these little buggers pretty small — they’re hard to flip over (even relative to normal pancakes).

Without further ado…

(OK… I think I will never go into food photography… But that’s a salad plate to give you a reference for size.)

Yogurt Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • coconut oil
  • butter

Beat eggs in large bowl with whisk.

Add in the rest of the ingredients, whisking to combine. Heat a large skillet or stove-top griddle to medium heat. Add a slick of coconut oil to lightly cover bottom of pan and a smidge of butter, swirling to combine with the oil. Once the butter has finished foaming add the batter. Make sure the batter is spread fairly thin so the pancakes are easier to flip.

Cook until small bubbles begin to form, then flip.

Add a bit more oil and butter as needed. The original calls for butter before every batch. I found those pancakes to be a bit too greasy.

Regardless, these moist little pancakes were delicious!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sonu on 13 March 2012 at 20:25

    I tried this method asrevel times this morning and haven’t been able to get them to turn out. I tried different flours, cooking temps, yogurt amounts they all turn out undercooked. I tried making them thinner, and they still didn’t cook completely. Has anyone had any success? I’d love to know what I’m doing wrong, but I can’t get these yogurt pancakes to turn out.

    • When I made them, they were very small and thin. They are very moist when they’re done. Perhaps you are confusing their moistness with them not being fully cooked?

Comments are closed.

