Meatless Meals (I Wish) My Mother Made

There is a local restaurant chain here called Pita Jungle; they have really excellent food. I tried one of their specials a few weeks ago, called Couscous Salad, and loved it! I made a mental note of all of the ingredients and recreated it. While it wasn’t exactly the same, it was still quite tasty!

I didn’t measure anything, so this is more a list than anything. While this does have spinach in it, the base of the salad was the couscous, with all of the other ingredients mixed in. Also, at Pita Jungle, it comes with bell pepper and jalapeño pepper in it as well, but I opted out of both.

A few notes: I like onions a lot, but too much really overpowers the rest of the salad. I learned (the second time) that mixing up the couscous and tabouleh first and then mixing in the other ingredients makes for easier mixing and better-distributed tabouleh. The tomatoes and pineapple keep it nice and moist.

Couscous Salad

  • couscous
  • tabouleh (also spelled tabbouleh or tabouli)
  • baby spinach
  • grape tomatoes
  • diced red onion
  • golden raisins
  • diced pineapple
  • chick peas
