New Year, Same Goals

It’s Wednesday! Today’s post is by Nichol.

Happy 2012 everyone! Single sister new year was a success! (I have three sisters, only one of which is single, so we hung out together and went to bed by 12:10).

This year will mark the two year anniversary of my major life changes and it’s just getting better. Like I said last week, I don’t have any resolutions. I will just keep on trucking.

Ok, just kidding. I do have some resolutions goals. Let me compile a short list for you (makes it easier for me to organize my thoughts, which as you know, my thoughts tend to be very tangential).

1. Continue with the good drinking habits. Coffee will always be a thing for me, but its not soda. I will try to drink more tea, but I can not possibly drink more water. It never seems to leave my side. I do, as a rule of my job, always have some form of alcohol in my fridge, but I’m not a heavy drinker. Usually a beer or a glass of wine a couple nights a week, maybe more on the weekends.

2. Food. Still no fast food, although I think that I will be leaving Subway and Quiznos in the dust. If I need a sandwich, I’ll make one or I’ll find a place that is not a chain.

3. Two things to live without for the year: mayo (which is still a weakness of mine) and pizza. I simply cannot control my self around pizza so I will teach myself control.

4. Keep saving money. Contrary to popular thought, I have been pretty okay with my money the last couple of months. I vow not to buy another pair of shoes until I have worn every pair that I own at least once.*

5. Stick to I ❤ to Run mile a day challenge. But push it. If I only do 1 mile, I need to do some weights. Work out ONCE A DAY.

6. This is the most important objective of 2012. Stay happy and positive. I have never been so happy ever in my life as I have been the past two years. Literal ratio of happy years to unhappy years: 1.5 to 30.5. There are days when I am pissy and this year will be no different. I will get pissy, I will cry, I will be sad, I will want to punch people in the face, but I will continue to remind myself that I have a good-ish job, I am healthy, I am strong, and gosh darn it, people like me.

This is almost like my 2012 inaugural journal entry. Seriously, you should read it. But you can’t because I say a lot of other embarrassing things in there about boys and stuff.

I hope you all have a wonderfully blessed, healthy, happy, and prosperous 2012 just like I plan to.

*Disclaimer: this may or may not happen. Just a heads up. When in Dillard’s, I go into a fugue state and have no idea what I am doing.

