Anti-Binge Tip: Keep Yourself Sated

I had an errand to run this morning that was time-sensitive. Fortunately, The Kid was more or less amenable to my schedule this morning, but I didn’t have a lot of non-kid time except to get dressed and have a quick breakfast. No oatmeal pre-readied (instant doesn’t hold a candle to steel-cut), so I had a bowl of cereal.

By the time we were coming home over two hours later, I was really hungry.

We drove by a billboard for McDonald’s. It had pictures of some multi-layered beef sandwiches. I looked at the billboard briefly and thought, “Those look good. I could go for one.”

What?

Yes, I am vegetarian and have been for almost four years now. But I stopped eating beef in 1996. 15 years ago. I don’t even remember what beef hamburgers taste like. And yet, in my famished state, just a billboard could make me momentarily consider a fast food burger as a viable option.

Now, it wasn’t difficult for me to avoid swinging through the local Mickey-D’s before I got home. But if the billboard had advertised some drive-thru crap food that I do eat, that might have been another matter.

The easiest way to avoid this problem is not to let yourself get that hungry. If I’d taken a snack with me, and/or if I’d eaten a better breakfast, I wouldn’t have been so hungry and probably wouldn’t have even noticed the billboard.

A little advanced planning goes a long way. Oatmeal for the rest of this week’s breakfasts is in the crockpot.

All that said, you’ll also eat a smaller meal if you’re not so hungry. Not that a hungry body needs a huge meal — but you think it does, so you eat more.

How do you prevent unplanned trips through the drive-thru?

