Miss Me?

It’s Wednesday! Today’s post is by Nichol.

You guys haven’t forgotten about me, have you? Last week was so hectic that all of a sudden it was Wednesday. I was getting out of my car at work and I realized that I did not do my Wednesday blog post. Don’t be mad. It was finals week and my brain was all over the place (more so than usual).

I have had some pretty big changes this week. We signed for our apartment and now I’m a grown-up again. I haven’t officially moved in but I have been slowly taking my non-essential items over. And school is over until January.

I have also gotten back into the habit of weighing myself every morning and counting my calories everyday. On top of that, Rachel and I have been running at least three times a week. On the nights that we don’t run, we’ve been using the health and fitness OnDemand channel. They have a lot of really fun and engaging videos on there. The other day we did a hip hop booty shake and it was fun.

I feel like if I keep this up, I can make my goal (-60 more pounds) by my two year healthy life style mark, which is July 1st.

It really is hard during the holidays. I did great last year, but it’s definitely a bigger struggle this year. I’m trying to remember the rules for making/breaking habits. It took a long time to get into the healthy habits I had and took only a day or so to break them.

I have noticed that I have had passing thoughts in my head about “just have a diet coke, it’s just one” or “it’ll be ok to swing through McDonald’s after school this one time, you’ve worked so hard” but I know if I allow all that back into my life, it’s all over and I’m back to square one.

I know it’s not motivation this time around. I really want to do it, I want to stay on this train, but now it’s about convenience. It’s a lot easier to sleep an extra hour than get up and run. It’s a lot easier to come home, take off my social worker clothes and put on my pajama clothes. It sucks going from social worker clothes to working out clothes to pajama clothes. Sounds silly, right?

How do you escape the convenience factor? What keeps you getting up in the morning or staying up at night to get in that activity?

One response to this post.

  1. I was just talking to my kids about not eating McDonalds. I used to be addicted to that place, and only felt good when I ate it and crappy the rest of my then sedentary life. The kids have the colored Coke glasses so we know who it belongs to, and Rick and I went to McD’s to replace the other ones that broke. He bought a meal, and we were going to share it, but I remember STILL so vividly how shitty I felt after the good chemical feeling went away that I refused to take even one bite of that (I’m sure it was totally blissful) sandwich. Instead a had a few fries and an unsweet tea.

    As for motivating myself to exercise, who am I kidding?! Rick and I joined a gym and I can’t stand the place. But I’m signed up and don’t want to waste the money so I’ll be doing what I can to go. I just wish I knew more about how to use the jungle gym type equipment than I do now – and maybe I’d be more interested. That, and it isn’t fun to workout around strangers unless you have a social buddy, IMO.

    Kudos to you for continuing to make good choices and put those workout clothes on! I might start packing my workout clothes for work, so I can go directly there and then home instead of home and not to the gym. Maybe it will suck less.

Comments are closed.

