Couch to 5K

It’s Wednesday! Today’s post is by Nichol.

I always say I hate running. I don’t think I really do. There have been nights that I have come home from work or school and just gone out to run, alone. It hasn’t happened very often and it’s not usually a very long run, but I feel like I cleaned out some mental space by the time I get back home.

With that in mind, I have re-started the Couch to 5K program. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s exactly what the title says it is. It helps you move from the couch to running a 5K. It’s not a antic potion (I wish) but it baby steps your running up to running a full 5K. With me, it’s more like jogging a 5K, but my snail like running pace is beside the point.

When my sister Rachel and I first started, last year, we got to week 5 (the program lasts 9 weeks), and then we stopped. We would randomly pick it up here and there, but it was pretty much over. I even took the app off my phone. But now I’ve totally stopped doing anything and even my eating has slid. Still not eating fast food, but I’m no longer really paying attention to what I put in my body. I kept thinking that I’ve conditioned myself and I can manage without tracking food and doing random hikes or boxing classes now and then.

But I haven’t reached my goal, my body is no longer transforming. I am not satisfied. I still need to lose about 80 pounds and I need to be in shape. So here goes the next (third? Fiftieth?) recommitment. I’m in it to win it. I feel that desire again, which is nice. I would like to be at my goal weight by my 33rd birthday. Which gives me nine months. Which is 8.88888888 lbs a month. Totally doable.

I will be running, taking some more yoga and boxing classes, trying to squeeze in some Zumba, biking, and hiking.

If you have some fabulous ideas, or you want to come do some physical exercise with me, let me know. Leave a comment and let’s all recommit together.

Change is possible. I started the change before, I just need to finish it.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on 16 November 2011 at 08:59

    Good luck! I’m waiting to get to a point where I can walk again (surgery last week), then I’m totally diving in. I haven’t been able to in about three months, and I can totally feel it. I desperately want to get back to running. Like you, I feel a mental shift when I run – it gives my mind time to store things, work things out, etc. And, for me, it’s the one time I don’t have to think about anything else.

    Re: your (re)commitment – I don’t have any magic ideas. Just keep at it, give yourself credit for what you’ve done, and keep moving forward. A journey like this is about changing your life, not reaching a specific goal. While the goal is good, the lifelong change is the most important thing. You’ve already made such amazing strides – keep making those things happen, and all will be well. Congratulations!!! 🙂

  2. good luck with the program!

  3. Get back into C25k! Start from the beginning and this time organise a schedule so at a certain time you go and do it. I am in my third week after never exercising and I feel great.

    Maybe you should do it by yourself, and make it a personal journey rather than only doing it when your sister is available to go aswell.

    I think making a schedule, which then becomes a routine, is the key. Well it has forced me to stick to the program when I could of easily dropped out.

    But you should only pick up one thing at a time, else you will never stick to it all. Start off with the C25k program, then in week 2 address your diet.

    You have the motivation, you just need something you can realistically achieve.

    I have noted down all my runs, maybe it will help?

    http://ausgirlscouchto5ks.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.

