“I Gained Weight Because My Metabolism Dropped”

How many times have you heard (or said) that?

“When I hit [age], my metabolism dropped and I gained weight.”

Sorry, friends. That’s only part of the picture. We are not helpless victims.

If you are eating because the clock tells you to eat, and you are eating as much as someone/something else dictates you eat, yes, you’re going to gain weight. (Consider this bad habit when you force-feed your children or require clean plates.)

If you keep eating the way you ate when you were a teenager (applies more to men than women), when your body was growing and needed more fuel, yes you’re going to gain weight.

If you listen to your body and eat mostly healthy food in appropriate proportions when you’re hungry, you’re not going to gain weight because you’re going to eat less because your body requires less fuel.

When I was a teenager, people in their late 20 would tell me, “Just wait until you’re my age.”

When I was in my 20s, people in their mid-to-late 30s would tell me, “Just wait until you’re my age.”

Now I’m in my mid-30s, and people in their 40s and 50s tell me, “Just wait until you’re my age.”

I don’t think age is the issue. Yes, bodies change. But if you’re adaptable and change with them, then you don’t need to ascribe your ill health to age.

