Q&A

Well, that didn’t go as well as I had hoped, but I did receive some good questions.

Question from Melanie: What do you think about the Vibram Five Finger Shoes, and do you use them?

A: I think they look awesome, and Heat rocks them like a champ. I wasn’t seriously thinking about getting a pair, but the more I read and the more I talk to Heather, I will be rocking the “toe shoes” sooner rather than later. I probably won’t wear them for anything other than running, but I am well aware that I will have to have an adjustment period, as it is with any new shoe. I’ll keep you all posted when I get some.

Question from Trisha (well, a lot of questions from Trisha, some which I will answer here, and some I will email directly to her): What’s your happiest moment-to-date on your quest to get healthy?

A: Ummmm, this whole experience has been pretty amazing, but the best moments are when I discover things about myself that I never realized before. The biggest is that I have the capacity and the will power to change my own life. I was always looking for an easy way out or for something to come along to make me so happy that I didn’t need to eat anymore. I love to hear from people who have known me forever that they can see a difference in me. And not just a physical difference, but in the way I speak, carry myself, interact with others. Several people have told me I just look happy, and I am pretty damn happy and light-years more confident than I was a year ago.

Q (still Trisha): What’s your saddest (besides the shoe thing) moment-to-date on your quest to get healthy?

A: I don’t know that I have had a saddest moment. I get very emotional when getting into the nitty-gritty of my relationship and history with food. I think the hardest and most emotional part is that I could have changed it all before my 30s, before my 20s, but this is the path that has been lighted for me, that I chose to follow, so I try not to be sad, just aware and always take time to reflect on how far I have come and make sure I don’t go backwards.

Although sometimes I get pretty bummed about Chicken McNuggets. Not gonna lie.

TQ: Do you think about fitting in some kind of exercise even when on vacation?

A: I’m so glad you asked that question! I’m leaving in two weeks for Pittsburgh for my sister’s graduation from Tom Savini Special Make-Up Effects Program (plug! Just kidding. Heather in no way endorses Tom Savini). If you are a true horror movie fan (my family, rabidly so) you know who he is. If not, well, he’s a special effects dude who has worked on a bazillion movies and my family loves his work.

Wow! That was some ramble.

Where was I? I am going to Pittsburgh (technically Monessen) and I actually asked my mom if the hotel has a gym. I don’t know that I will be running in Monessen (most of the houses are abandoned, as in creepy dolls are on the floor and kids handprints are on the wall) or Pittsburgh (where I will definitely get lost, mugged, murdered, or wind up in Maine).

So if there is no gym, I will run at my own risk and make sure at least one sister is with me at all times for insurance purposes If a ghost, or child spirit, or mugger should arise, I have someone to sacrifice.

And that was a REALLY long answer to that question. Clearly I am a tangential thinker, writer, and speaker. Moving on.

TQ: Do you have new/different friends because of your new, healthy lifestyle?

A: Oh goodness. No, not that I can think of off the top of my head. (Sorry if i have offended anyone who is a new friend because of my healthy lifestyle.) I am doing healthier-ish things with friends I already have. My friend Tracy and I have been attempting to hike at least once a month together and my best friend Janna and I went to yoga, and yoga is now my new obsession. Did you know I have very open hips? Neither did I!

I would love to try more things and meet new people, so if you have suggestions or you want to be friends with me, you know where to find me.

I will say that through this whole thing, Heather has been one of my strongest supporters and cheerleaders. I never would have gotten this far without her kicking my ass once a week and “suggesting” I do a 5K (kidding! I was not forced in any way, except for the last bit of the run). I like to think that this whole thing I started, with her amazing help, advice, and encouragement has moved us from work friends, to friends, to good friends, and possibly she will name her first-born child after me.

One response to this post.

  1. Hahaha! I just read your post ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m glad I could be helpful. That’s why I started Second Chance FitCenter, and it’s great to be able to do it.

    Will keep you posted on the name…………..

    I don’t endorse Tom Savini because, until about 3 minutes ago, I didn’t know who he was. Not a fan of horror films at all (they give me nightmares), but there are worse plugs you could stick into the blog… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    There are also lots of exercises you can do in a hotel room with just body weight. Come to the body weight clinic and learn about them, and then you won’t have to worry about whether or not the hotel has a fitness room.

Comments are closed.

