Things I have learned…

Due to a work-related emergency (children’s case manager for a non-profit behavioral health agency servicing AHCCCS consumers) my post on things I have learned in my quest to get skinny healthy will have to be short and sweet this week.

The most interesting thing I have learned is that feet CAN get smaller. This makes me infinitely sad and tremendously happy all at the same time.

I, for those who are unaware, have amassed a shoe collection that I am very proud of. It’s beautiful and expensive and totally unnecessary because I typically wear flip flops year round. But it’s nice to know that in a pinch, I can pull out my Lolita platform pumps (Michael Kors, 5-inches) and rock them like nobody’s business. However, my feet have shrunk. Seriously.

At Christmas I went on a shopping spree with my sisters and wanted to get a nice pair of heels (like I needed more). I picked my prey (Jessica Simpson baby pink with black lace overlay, 4-inch stilettos). Got the right size, 10. They were beautiful. But they were too big. Ok, 9.5. Too big. 9? Just right. I have dropped a shoe size? Must be some mistake. I try a lot of shoes on and out of habit I always ask for the 10 and they are ALWAYS too big.

Lose enough weight, your feet get smaller. Weird, right?

So now, I’m eternally grateful that my dream of owning nude Louboutins (6-inch spike heel) was never realized. Because I would have to get rid of them and that would be too much for my poor little shoe loving soul.

Well, I better go get my work done.

I have an idea for next week, but I need your help. Let’s do a Q&A. Ask me anything, within reason, and I will answer to the best of my ability, just as rambly as I can.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Cool news about the shoes! Q&A question – what do YOU think about the Vibram Five Finger shoes, and do you use them?

  2. Posted by Trisha on 4 May 2011 at 16:41

    What’s your happiest moment-to-date on your quest to get healthy?
    What’s your saddest (besides the shoe thing) moment-to-date on your quest to get healthy?
    Do you have new/different friends because of your new, healthy lifestyle?
    When are you moving out of your parents house?
    Is it true that, of all the Bethunians you’ve worked with, you miss me the most?
    What’s your favorite kid name (from teaching or your job now)?
    Do you think about fitting in some kind of exercise even when on vacation?
    Have I ever told you that I LOVE the Q & A game?
    What’s your favorite bar in the valley?
    If you could only ever buy one shoe brand what would it be?
    What’s your favorite movie?
    Are you contemplating quitting smoking?
    I miss you, do you miss me?
    Why don’t you call?
    Why don’t we go out for dinner or see a movie?
    I’m sad, I must stop now.
    Now get to answering!

    • Posted by nicholh on 5 May 2011 at 15:33

      Oh lord. Should have known better.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Posted by Trisha on 5 May 2011 at 17:09

        Hey, you asked. And really, you don’t have to call me lord anymore.

Comments are closed.

