Meatless Meals (I Wish) My Mother Made

Hey! My mother did make this meal!

This is a family recipe that, as legend has it, my great-grandmother made up as a meal to eat on Ash Wednesday. Whether the story is true or not, when I was growing up, we always had this meal on Ash Wednesday, and never on any other day.

Well … I like it, so I make it whenever I want 🙂

Since it’s been passed down, there weren’t measurements to go along with the ingredients. As I made these earlier this week, I measured things out, but the measurements are rough. The Big Man said they’re the best eggberts I’ve ever made.

If you experiment with this at all and find other ingredients that go well in/with it, let me know!

Eggberts

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 box (16 oz) elbow macaroni, or other short, round noodles
  • 1 jar (15 oz) marinara sauce

Directions

  1. Scramble eggs in a bowl. Mix in breadcrumbs, parsley, and basil. Mixture should be just thick enough not to be runny. If mixture is runny, add more breadcrumbs. If mixture is too thick, either add another egg or add a bit of water.
  2. Spoon mixture into oiled or sprayed frying pan on medium-high heat. I make patties about the size of small hamburgers, but you can make them as large or small as you’d like. Just keep them fairly thin so the insides cook before the outsides burn. Brown on each side, about 3 or so minutes per side.
  3. Cover the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish in marinara. Put the eggberts on top of the sauce. Cover with remaining sauce and bake at 350˚ until the remaining steps are completed.
  4. On the hot burner, put a pot of water. Cook and drain noodles according to package directions.
  5. When noodles are ready, serve them onto a dish. Top with an eggbert and sauce from the baking dish.

This recipe makes 5-6 eggberts of small hamburger size. The Big Man and I will typically eat two each, with one or two left over. The only logistical issue with making more is fitting them in the baking dish, but if you have two dishes (and room in the oven for both), then there’s no problem!

Also, I have made these on-the-go without baking them (since they’re already cooked when they go in the oven). Baking them allows them to soak up some sauce — they are much more moist that way. But if moistness is not a concern of yours, cooking them on the stove and just adding sauce will work.

