This Week in Pregnancy: Week 13

Ah, the end of the first trimester. I have heard that nearly everyone feels great in their second trimester (aside from the poor women who are just sick the whole pregnancy), and my feeling-great-ness has kicked in a bit early.

Well, not feeling greater than pre-pregnancy, but definitely back to my old energy levels, ability to focus, etc. My days are much more productive now when I get enough sleep. Yes, the flip side to not being exhausted is going back to my not-always-great habits about when I get to bed.

Still focused on getting enough protein. I have eaten so many eggs in the last month. I’m taking this week off, mostly, and just looking for it in other sources. It is amazing how a few grams here and a few grams there will add up!

Getting back into exercising a bit more, or a bit more rigorously, which is also helping my energy level. It feels great! Nothing too crazy, and not lifting a lot of weight or running too fast (ha! as if that’s an option!), but moving moving moving.

I hit 130 pounds this week. I haven’t been 130 pounds in many years, so it’s a little funky to see it on the scale. It’s OK, just funky.

My pants officially don’t come anywhere close to fitting any more. I went and bought a BE Band (by the makers of Bella Band ā€” I don’t know what the difference is, but this was what I could find in a brick-and-mortar store). It has been working well enough. I don’t have it all figured out yet (my pants come out in the back when I sit down, for example), but I am able to get around without being half naked šŸ˜‰

Food stuff seems to be about the same – no weird cravings. I haven’t been eating any of the foods I was averse to, so I can’t tell you if I still don’t like them.

I read Raising Baby Green: The Earth-Friendly Guide to Pregnancy, Childbirth, and Baby Care by Allan Greene, M.D. While I knew most of the information about chemicals, there were definitely many pieces that were interesting and worth looking at. Also, it is about “green” in the grander sense, not just specifically about avoiding chemical contact with the baby.

In the next few days, we’re going to start looking into health insurance. Both of our policies allow for children to be added on … at great expense! We’ve been told that some carriers offer affordable plans for babies. Time to start looking so we can start to plan some sort of rough budget…

