Goals

I have finally reset and got myself back on track…

I have obviously been struggling for awhile with the whole working out thing. I also have been struggling with tracking my nutrition, which for me is bad. I’m still learning portions and how to control them. There are things that I can generally do on my own, such as one little bag of peanut butter M&M’s won’t hurt, too much (I’ve never been much of a sweets person, I just had a super craving for something sweet the other day and I gave in because usually I don’t crave them). I know to eat lots of fruits and veggies, slightly less of the grains, and even less meat. But I’m still learning willpower over certain items. Such as pizza, or wings, or beer, or macaroni and cheese. I still struggle with those.

I have stuck to no fast food and no soda. I did randomly crave a diet coke the other day. One of my fellow case managers cracked open a soda and the sound of it made me want to run straight to the vending machine, but I had to talk myself down because diet coke is my crack cocaine. And diet coke leads to McDonalds and McDonalds leads to the 60 pounds I’ve already said good bye to.

I was also struggling with the exercise piece. I have learned that I am a person who likes to have people with me when I’m working out (misery loves company?), so I’ve been asking my little sister Rachel to do Nike Training Club with me. I also started back on the Couch 2 5K program (also an app which can be used with the Nike+ sensor/app). I started again on Monday night and it felt really great. Heat invited me to run with her this weekend, but I don’t like to be out in the rain, unless I am under a patio roof so Saturday was shot and I don’t really want to talk about Sunday (Fry Bread House rules, but don’t eat the chorizo and Someburros is good, but don’t eat the pinto beans).

I would love to do more personal training because it kept me super motivated and gave me the gumption to go out the rest of the week and kick some ass with Couch 2 5K, but I am no where near financially capable enough to do that right now.

I’m working on staying positive and making sure to keep working out even when I’m by myself, which I hate. I thought I wouldn’t be writing as much, it’s been a really insane week so far, but there you go. A little update on where Nichol is in her journey.

How are you doing?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Steph on 13 April 2011 at 16:21

    I have a Nike+ sensor and used to use their website pretty heavily. I’ve now migrated to http://www.dailymile.com (which is compatible with Nike+). It’s basically Facebook for people who exercise. The social aspect has been very motivating. Come join in!

Comments are closed.

