this week in pregnancy: week 10

Well, according to the e-mail I got from babycenter.com, all critical development has happened already in The Kid and now it just needs to grow.  That is pretty wild, especially considering that I didn’t even know I was pregnant for more than half of that critical time.

The “I’m full” sensor is working again, which relieves me, and I think I don’t need to eat as much as I was eating in the last couple of weeks. I didn’t change my eating much this week, except to cut back on the peanut butter crackers, and I gained a couple of pounds. A bit of that is water – my wedding ring doesn’t fit quite right – but I’m sure some of it is just too much food. So now to eat when hungry, but smaller portions.

I’m sure that as soon as I have adapted to that, it will change again. It’s OK.

I ran/walked a 5K last weekend, which was a lot of fun. I didn’t train for it at all (and had actually planned just to walk it), but it felt really good to get out and run around a bit.

I am going this weekend to buy some pants. The plan is to buy two pair of pants – one dark and one light – that are a bit big on me right now. This way, I can wear them for a short while, bridging some of the gap between my normal pants (most of which don’t fit or don’t fit well now) and maternity pants. I figure that once The Kid makes its appearance, I’m not likely slipping back into my size 8s right away, and so these pants will be “transition pants” on both ends of this adventure.

The cleaning out and moving around of closets is almost done. While we’re at it, we’re doing some baby-proofing. Might as well, since everything is getting shuffled anyway!

My energy level remains fairly low, but I’m functional most of the time. As long as I get enough sleep at night, I’m pretty good for the day. Evening events are a little rough, especially on days when I am busy during the day, but again, not too bad.

So nothing super-exciting in this update. As we start to plan more of furniture and stuff I’ll post about that. We have some ideas but still need to shop around and check things out…

Is there anything else about this crazy journey that you’d like to hear about?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jen Burr on 1 April 2011 at 08:58

    I’m really enjoying reading your journal. I’m in the last phases of an IVF cycle, so hearing your progress and such keeps me in the “looking forward” category, as opposed to expecting the worst. Thank you for posting!

  2. Some of the weight you’ll gain isn’t all baby. just being aware of what you are eating and making sure it is good quality food works. you continue moving your body and that is great! as for pants… before you buy transition pants check out the maternity pants they have these days. most will accommodate you now as well as after birth. they were quite ingenious! also check out the bella band, I think it is called. you wear pants unbuttoned and zipped… the band covers it and let’s you wear your pants till they fit.

    • I *want* it all to be baby weight (or water). That was the goal when I started, and it remains the goal. I should have weighed my boobs before this all started — holy cow!

      As far as pants – the weekend has been busier than I had anticipated so I’ve not gone shopping for anything, but I did find a pair of drawstring-waisted pants in my closet that I’ll be able to wear to work 🙂 Those, plus the one or two pair that I can still fit into should get me through another week (or two?! Wishful thinking 🙂 ). I will check out maternity pants, though, and bella bands. Thanks!

  3. Posted by Amy on 1 April 2011 at 09:12

    i second the bella band comment, you can also use a hair tie to loop around the button of your pants for some extra room.

  4. Another option is a pair of BELLY UPS. They keep your pants up where they belong – you will wonder how you ever lived without them! (and you can even wear them once you have the baby!) http://www.bellyups.com

Comments are closed.

