How the Food Industry is Making Us Sick

This wasn’t today’s planned post, but after watching this video yesterday, I couldn’t delay sharing it with you. (Thanks to DIY Natural for sharing it yesterday!)

I knew already that profitability — not consumer safety — drives the food industry, and that the regulatory organizations are worthless at best.

I also knew that many foods considered safe in the US are not considered safe anywhere else in the world.  I didn’t know that major companies in the US create their same foods without any of the GM ingredients so they can be exported but do not make those foods available in the US.

I knew already that most soy in the US is genetically modified, but I didn’t know it is modified to make it resistant to weed killers. This also means that it is exposed to and absorbs more of said weed killers.

I didn’t know that GM corn was modified to release its own insecticide.

This video is about 18 minutes long and is well worth all 18 minutes. It has strengthened my resolve not to eat foods made with corn or soy ingredients unless they’re organic. I will post on Thursday about these two ingredients and how you’re eating a ton of both even if you don’t actually eat corn or soy.

Between yesterday’s information on meat glue and today’s on all of this … is anyone else furious about the way food is handled (on the grand scale) in the US?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Trisha on 29 March 2011 at 11:31

    I am!!! Food, Inc. is a great documentary on the subject as well. Thanks for sharing today’s link!!

  2. Posted by Kristin on 8 April 2011 at 13:56

    This is fascinating! I am allergic to both soy and corn (very allergic to soy) and the one thing I have learned is that it’s in your food sometimes without appearing on the ingredients label. Ingredients such as “Natural Flavor” very often have soy lecithin as a preservative.

  3. Posted by Saundra Stromberg on 9 August 2012 at 02:24

    Lecithin is a generic term to designate any group of yellow-brownish fatty substances occurring in animal and plant tissues composed of phosphoric acid.

    Best regards

Comments are closed.

