blog rant!

I have to tell you … I’m a little annoyed right now.

I’ve been spending some time this week catching up on blog reading (it wasn’t a priority when I was out of town). I read a lot of blogs on a variety of topics via RSS. Some of them post daily, some of them post only once every couple of months and the rest are somewhere in between.

But in the last few days, as I’m catching up, I’m noticing that many of them (too many!) are trying to sell me stuff. I’ve read two posts so far just today that the content was nothing but “We’re going to be selling you something soon! Bet you can’t wait!” There was another blog that I loved that once the author started working on an e-book, the only thing he wrote about was the book — how writing it was going, when the launch was coming, the launch, pushing it some more after the launch, and how it did. I stopped reading it, and I didn’t buy the book.

Now, I get that some bloggers use their audience as a base to sell stuff. I am hoping that at some point in the not-too-distant future, I’ll have an e-book that some of y’all might be interested in. But I’m not going to post about it all the time. And there will still be other content.

What’s your opinion on blogs that sell? How often is too often? Do you unsubscribe or just ignore those posts?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan on 10 March 2011 at 16:04

    Hmmmm…is this a reference to The Happiness Project? If not, it should be. 🙂

Comments are closed.

