Saturday recipe

Every Saturday, I’d like to post a recipe for something tasty, healthy, and vegetarian.  (If you have a funny, funky, or clever name for this Saturday recipe ritual, e-mail me or leave it in the comments.)  I’ll start with my own tastier-and-packs-an-extra-healthy-punch oatmeal.

ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dry 5-minute oatmeal
  • 1 cup water (as directed on package)
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2-3/4 cup frozen wild blueberries
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed

directions

  1. Cook oatmeal using package directions, but add cinnamon to the water while it is heating.
  2. While the oatmeal is cooking, add blueberries to bowl.  Add wheat germ and flax to blueberries.
  3. Pour oatmeal over contents of bowl.  Stir and enjoy!

I sometimes slightly undercook the oatmeal (or use a little extra water) so that it is a little bit runny off the stove.  This helps it to soak up the wheat germ and flaxseed and makes the end product less grainy.

I like wild frozen blueberries because they’re smaller than regular blueberries.  The hot oatmeal thaws them, and they cool off the oatmeal, making it ready to eat instantly — a perk for those of us who are a.m.-challenged 😉

I use 5-minute oatmeal as my compromise between instant and 20-to-30 minutes for plain ol’ oats.  Someday, when my mornings are as I’d like them to be, I’ll use steel-cut oats.

I put the wheat germ and flaxseed on top of the blueberries so that it doesn’t all just get stuck to the bottom of the bowl (if I put it in first) and so that it doesn’t spill out when stirring (if I add it on top).

What variations might you try?

If you have a recipe that is healthy and tasty (easy is an added bonus but isn’t a requirement), e-mail me at heather at secondchancefit dot com.

